“Your gate is B29, be there by the time shown here.”

And naturally, I arrived way earlier than necessary. Usual state of business when I fly.

I’m currently waiting at the gate and wondering if I want to venture off for a coffee. My parents dropped me off at the airport not too long ago, after a nerve-wracking encounter with some typical highway 401 traffic heading into Toronto. Of course, checking my bag was a breeze, and I flew through security (despite struggling with my boot laces). So, here I sit, ready for the next big adventure to begin. I could even take a picture of myself here in the airport to post for authenticity, but there’s a lot of people around and that’s kind of awkward.

It’s hard to believe how quickly today went by, how quickly this week went by, and well, this entire summer. All along the way were the same questions and commentaries about leaving to study abroad. “Wow, it’ll be amazing!“, “You’ll have a great time. Eat all the food!“, and of course, “So, are you nervous?” And, at least for me, responding to things people have said regarding this experience hasn’t been very easy. Perhaps it’s just my awkwardness, but I find that when it’s such a mixed bag of sentiments, its not so easy to gauge how to answer.

Image
But it is exciting, and it still does make me nervous. And yes, I am going to eat all the food. But once again, I can’t help but liken the experience to what it was like coming to Glendon. I suppose if you were to ask me, I’m most nervous about going back to class (I rarely feel like I’m really good at being a student). I’ve found from working with our incoming first-years this summer that going to class in such a different environment is probably the most worrisome experience as a student.

I like to remind myself of my experiences meeting exchange students at Glendon, their feelings coming to Canada, and how it was for them to get accustomed to our way of living. Considering the sheer amount of students that make their way to a foreign land to study or for work, there seems to be no reason to be nervous.

And so, I look forward to the next big adventure with an open mind. It’s yet another opportunity for a “fresh start”, and I’m ready to take it.

*My next post should include some photos and things to make it more interesting. In any case, you can subscribe to my blog via email in the right sidebar and stay tuned for a post about my adventures in Paris and Rennes in the next few days!

About Drew

A student at the bilingual Glendon Campus of York University in Toronto, Canada, I also work as an eAmbassador in Student Recruitment and Applicant Relations. Currently studying Political Science as an international Bachelor of Arts, with a Certificate of Law and Social Thought. Last year, I was on exchange in Rennes, France studying at l'Institut d'études politiques.
This entry was posted in Life on Exchange and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Your gate is B29, be there by the time shown here.”

  1. Jaclyn says:

    You’re making me want to go on exchange…

    Do you read Hyperbole and a Half? If you haven’t already, you should read this post when you have time – it’s hilarious: http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.ca/2010/11/dogs-dont-understand-basic-concepts.html

Leave a Reply

