Small adjustments

Linguistic differences can be a bit tricky when you’ve grown up with a mix of Canadian and Metropolitan French. In our mandatory French class, I was able to correctly identify a phrase as being “Français soutenu” (upper-class or “snob” french) because the word “soulier” (shoe) was in it. I knew this because “Soulier” is more commonly used in Québec than France, and therefore was probably older French, and thus “Soutenu”. This led to a discussion of some of the differences between the two dialects with the teacher. Reactions from my classmates ranged from mild curiosity to complete disinterest (We are in Rennes, not Trois-Pistoles, after all).

On  a more personal level, being a vegetarian is not always easy in France. I find that people don’t quite understand why I’m not ordering a meat dish during lunch. I’ll begin by asking for vegetables, they hesitate with a blank stare, and then, “Pas de viande???”

*facepalm*

Random Ramble #4

As well, being in France takes some courage. Courage to cross the road. Yes, they always stop, but you have to commit to crossing or they won’t take you seriously. I made a fool of myself crossing the street the other day because I couldn’t commit (the driver had to stop three times for me, red-faced with embarrassment, to finally jog across and catch up to my American friend).

Parfois, c’est un peu difficile.

 

About Drew

just trying at the moment.
Image | This entry was posted in Life on Exchange and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Small adjustments

  1. drewpgl says:

    Umm… Probably cheese! But it’s not always practical. I suppose if I’m out, I like to order vegetarian galettes , cause they’re awesome. (Funnily enough, I’ve even found that a food I *hate* in Canada, mayonnaise, is really delicious here. Bit of a problem!)

  2. Jaclyn says:

    What is your favourite food to eat in France?

  3. drewpgl says:

    Yes, it would seem so! I find it quite interesting since my German friends tell me that in Berlin, it is also much more common to find vegetarian/vegan options. I wonder why it’s so uncommon here in France.

  4. Mark Thomas says:

    The last statistic I heard was that less than 1% French people are vegetarian. Its about 10% in the UK. I am afraid that those blank stares are going to continue for a long time!

Leave a Reply

