Dance in the dark of night, Sing to the morning light.

Today was Spring. Yesterday was spring too, technically. Today however, was the warmest and sunniest day I believe we’ve seen since… probably October. To celebrate, I thought I might write a bit of a rambling post to go along with the fantastic mood I’m in.

I didn't have to see her today to notice she was ecstatic with today's weather.

I didn’t have to see her today to notice she was ecstatic with today’s weather. (Sorry about the lack of editing skills here)

Spring began March 20th and that will probably be ingrained in my memory forever. A italian friend of mine wouldn’t stop talking for two weeks about how excited she was for it before it came and then, when it finally did, how disappointed she was that it wasn’t magically sunnier out every day!

(I think today made up for most everyone’s antipathy with the recent weather however.)

We had planned to put together a special event to celebrate the coming of Spring, but since it had rained that weekend, we postponed and made plans for Easter weekend. The two of us and another friend got together and planned a special meal of Melanzane alla Parmigiana (eggplant parmesan). In the end, we spent almost the entire weekend together, as most of our other friends were off on their own adventures.

Whenever my italian friend cooks for me, my eyes water from sheer joy.

Whenever my italian friend cooks for me, my eyes water from sheer joy.

We also made a cake, and bought a bottle of Spanish champagne-type stuff...

We also made a cake, and bought a bottle of Spanish champagne-type stuff…

... Which was a questionable idea.

… Which was a questionable idea.

But, as I mentioned, today was really a day to celebrate. Unfortunately, I woke up today after a night out that didn’t end spectacularly well and, despite the sunshine, was not really planning to go anywhere. I resigned myself to rocking out to Zeppelin and trying to get myself to do some of the work that’s been piling up lately.

…. Until I received an invitation to head off to the park with some friends.

I didn't take many pictures. This is not an accurate reflection of the park population.

I didn’t take many pictures. This is not an accurate reflection of the park population.

We lay out under the sun with what seemed like hundreds of other people (mostly students) in the park, enjoyed some ice cream, and did our best not to think of all the work we have to finish before our holidays begin. After a few hours, it was time to head back, and I was practically bouncing off the sidewalk with a vitamin D overdose.

Garfield without Garfield

Garfield without Garfield

To be honest, the day was somewhat bittersweet. As the days get warmer and longer, and exams creep nearer, we’re reminded again and again that our time left together is limited. On the other hand, today was also a teasing reminder of sweet summers back home and having beers on the back patio with the family. A point has been reached where thinking about going home brings a conflicted sense of guilt. Ready to go home, not ready to say goodbye; Wanting the school year and work to end, but knowing that everyone will scatter to the winds once it does.

"Pierrot le Fou" - Jean-Luc Godard, 1965

“Pierrot le Fou” – Jean-Luc Godard, 1965

There’s not much we can do now except turn up the music and soak in these moments.

At last the sun is shining, The clouds of blue roll by,
With flames from the dragon of darkness, the sunlight blinds his eyes.

– The Battle of Evermore, Led Zeppelin

About Drew

A student at the bilingual Glendon Campus of York University in Toronto, Canada, I also work as an eAmbassador in Student Recruitment and Applicant Relations. Currently studying Political Science as an international Bachelor of Arts, with a Certificate of Law and Social Thought. Last year, I was on exchange in Rennes, France studying at l'Institut d'études politiques.
This entry was posted in Life on Exchange and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dance in the dark of night, Sing to the morning light.

  1. sarahyugl says:

    I like your face 🙂

Leave a Reply

